Feedback on feedback

Standard

I use as much self and peer assessment as I possibly can, however this isn’t to reduce my marking. I still have to mark. In fact it increases the time spent marking as I have to read the original work and then read the feedback. However I have started in lessons to feedback on the feedback.

With peer marking however this is a potentially sensitive area as I’m not writing my comments about the work, but about the feedback given. Think of the student whose work is ‘perfect’ but has a reviewer who doesn’t feedback very well. They get my comments on their ‘perfect’ work!

"Good work mate" - Not exactly the feedback I was looking for!

“Good work mate” – Not exactly the feedback I was looking for!

So I’ve decided not to write feedback on feedback but make it part of the lesson. My lesson ‘menu’ that I write on the board (so students know what is happening that lesson) says “Feedback on feedback”. It has to be done the same or next lesson that the peer marking was done otherwise they will forget what they had read in the first place.

As part of the re-cap from last lesson I ask students to remind everyone what criteria we used to assess the piece of work and some of the ‘phrases’ they’re encouraged to use.

Students use the Academy SPAG policy with their red pen

Students use the Academy SPAG policy with their red pen

I then have only those whose feedback didn’t follow the guidelines in my hand. Only these are given out to the peers, along with the red pens.

In my classes the following applies:

Blue/Black pen – first draft

Red pen – self/peer assessment

Pink/purple pen/stampers – my feedback

Green pen – improvements/2nd draft

Advice in red from peer. Green pen shows they've made the improvement

Advice in red from peer. Green pen shows they’ve made the improvement

Everyone else gets the green pens to improve their work, if needed.

I use stampers to show I’ve checked work and show that it’s been peer/self assessed. This saves me a lot of time.

2013-10-01 09.46.272013-10-18 15.42.52

I think I will invest in a couple more saying something like “Good feedback given using criteria” and “Please make suggested improvements with green pen”.

It’s clear this work has been worked on!

After reminding students what ‘good’ feedback looks like they can then improve it. Albeit in this case he just focused on SPAG.

Second time lucky!

So feedback is sorted! Well not really.  I used a similar process with some A level students. Their feedback was spot-on. It followed exactly the criteria for the question. They could tell me why it was a good answer. One problem. It wasn’t actually correct. They’d followed the process of answering but what they’d written was incorrect.

Great feedback using the assessment criteria.One problem, their answer was wrong!

Great feedback using the assessment criteria.One problem, their answer was wrong!

So my lesson learnt is that I need to ensure that the two aspects of writing are equally understood by students; What they’re writing and also how to write it.

Leave a Reply

